Rucola Pesto

Spaghetti with Rucola Pesto and fresh Cherry Tomatoes

I’m really bad when it comes to leafy green salad. If it’s only a tiny bit wilted, I don’t want to eat it. It even goes as far that I give the salad leaf that is usually inbetween a sandwich to my cat. Yes, Spike really loves salad greens and will eat it with great gusto. 

However, I can’t give Rucola to the kitties, too spicy for them. 🙂 Besides, I love the taste of Rucola but I can’t get myself to eat it when it’s not crispy fresh. The solution – Rucola Pesto! 

Ingredients:

  • 100g Rucola/rocket
  • 50g pine nuts
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 tsp coarse sea salt
  • Olive oil, approx. 5 tbsp 

It’s really easy – dump everything in a food processor and mix well. Add more olive oil if needed. If you are going to use it up right away, here’s what I did to make it smoother and more liquid without adding more olive oil:

Roughly cut up a tomato and mix it in. Tastes great and adds more liquid, but you won’t be able to store it very long. Therefore I recommend to make it fresh and use it up immediately.

 

Another trick: If you do not like pine nuts or they are too expensive, you can use pretty much every kind of nuts you have at hand. I had a bag of unsalted pistachios the other day that really needed to be used and it worked really well with the rucola. You could also use walnuts or almonds. 

Rucola is quite spicy, therefore this pesto won’t be as mild as a regular basil pesto. But the zing is really nice. 

I used it with spaghetti and fresh cherry tomatos the other day. Top with grated cheese if desired and enjoy!

3 responses

  1. Yum!! I just posted about my Wasabi Arugula Pesto today! This looks great!

    1. Thanks! I liked your post, too, great idea with the lemon juice!

Leave a Reply

