Chocolaty Peach Cheesecake

It was my Birthday a couple of weeks ago and I always use that as an excuse to indulge in my favourite cake: Chocolate Peach Cheesecake! I love cheesecake. I indulge very very seldom in it. It’s not very common in Switzerland and if I want some, I have to make it myself or go buy an exorbitantly expensive piece at Starbucks. I got the original recipe from the Philadelphia Cream Cheese Website a couple of years ago but amended the recipe a bit.

You may have noticed in a lot of my pictures that there are often products with a green-white design. These are low-budget products. While I’m luckily not on an extremely tight budget anymore as I was half a year ago, I still believe in buying cost consciously. While I do spend a bit more on better quality and local fresh produce, there are things where I don’t see why I should spend more. Especially if the low budget cream cheese tastes just as good as the expensive one with a brand name.

Anywhoooo, here come the ingredients:

  • 250g sponge biscuits or ladyfingers or as we call them “Löffelbiskuit”
  • 50g butter
  • 200g dark chocolate
  • 600g plain cream cheese
  • 100g sugar
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 vanilla pod
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cans peaches (drained about 800g fruit, but save 2 tbsp of the juice)

Preheat oven to approx. 200° Celsius. Fill the ladyfingers in a freezer bag, seal and crumble all the biscuits with either your hands or more easily, with a rolling pin. (yes, it’s noisy and it’s fun!)

Line a springform pan with baking parchment. Carefully melt the chocolate and the butter, then mix thoroughly with the crumbs. Press tightly into the pan to form the crust.

(sidenote: the original recipe asked for 150g biscuits and 50g chocolate. There was no way in heaven or hell that I could fit 50g of melted chocolate around 150g biscuit crumbs. Not ever. Besides… this is supposed to be a chocolate crust, right?)

Add the cream cheese, sugar, lemon and peach juice, scraped out vanilla pulp (the black stuff you can see in the picture) and the eggs to a bowl. (Hint: Don’t throw away the scraped out vanilla pod. Place in a clean and dry container, cover with sugar and shake every now and then. There’s still so much flavour in the pod that it’ll be a shame to throw it away! That way you will get vanilla sugar you may use the next time for baking. Goes well in muffins for example)

Mix well until you get a smooth cream.

Cut the peaches into cubes. I would assume that this recipe works with other fruit as well, haven’t tried it out though. Next, spread the peaches evenly onto the crust.

Cover evenly with the cream cheese mass. I use more peaches than the original recipe asks for, but that way this cake is so incredibly juicy and fruity.

Now, to the baking. The original recipe said 50 minutes at 180° Celsius. HOWEVER – we have an old kitchen with a very old oven that has no aircirculation whatsoever. It took that time plus another 15 minutes at 200° Celsius. What I’m saying is this – it really depends on your oven and better to check after 40 minutes and keep an eye on it to decide on the spot if the cake needs more or less time.

You want the cake to be slightly browned, approximately like this (well, maybe a bit less, got a bit very dark around the edges there):

Let cool completely, before carefully going around the edge with a sharp knife and releasing the cake from the spring form. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

