Vanilla-Lemon Lemonade

Today I’ll only share a recipe that I’ve found on another blog. It’s a Swiss Foodblog  run by the writers of a popular cooking magazine. The Blog is called Das Trüffelschwein, roughly translated it means The Truffle Pig. 🙂

In any case, pictures are from the above mentioned Blog, recipe translated for your benefit by me. (and commented, too). Also, here you may find the link to the original recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 3 organic lemons
  • 1 Vanilla Bean
  • 80g sugar
  • 1 litre sparkling water (I used 1,5 litres)
  • ice cubes (optional)

Thinly peel the zest off the lemons. Squeeze the juice from all three lemons. Cut the vanilla pod lenghthwise and scrape out the insides. Place everything in a large pitcher or bowl and mix in the sugar. Add the sparkling water, stir, cover with foil and let sit in the fridge for about one hour.

Pour through a fine sieve and serve with ice.

They also advice that this works with oranges, too, and that one should not place the drink in a bottle, because the bottle may explode because of fermentation. Well, since I drink it right away anyways, I did place it in one of my trusty PET bottles. But I guess you shouldn’t let it stand for too long. There, I gave the warning. 🙂

This drink is my absolute new favourite. The Vanilla gives it just a bit of decadence and the combination with the lemons works beautifully.

Besides… After preparing the drink my hands smelled like vanilla and lemons for a whole day and that’s a real nice perfume! 🙂

 

 

2 responses

  1. Great recipe! Would loved to try it out =)

    1. You should absolutely try it – it’s really fast and easy!

Leave a Reply

