Öpfel-Biire-Waihe

In Switzerland, we love Waihe or – as it’s also called – Wähe. The closest thing to translating would probably be Gateaux aux fruits or Fruit Tarte. Only – it doesn’t only come in the sweet variation, there are also savory kinds. 

Today I’ll present the sweet kind with apples and pears. Swiss people love to eat Waihe as a main dish, for lunch or dinner or even breakfast. You can buy pre-packaged slices in almost every grocery store or bakery. It’s relatively cheap and great to use up those not-so-fresh apples or other fruit. My mom would make Waihe a lot during summer as a light dinner and my grandma always brought me some when I was sick. My personal favourite is the one with apricots or plums. However, I’ll show you the one with apples and some pears today, since I had those at home and they needed to be eaten. 🙂

  • Ingredients:
  • 1 rolled out sheet of pastry
  • Fruit to taste, amount depending on the size of your baking sheet
  • 1 Lemon (I used that only so the apples wouldn’t brown so fast and to add a bit of zing)
  • Some grated almonds or hazelnuts
  • Some raisins or cranberries (optional)
  • 1-2 eggs
  • 300 ml milk (or half milk, half cream)
  • Some vanilla extract (optional)
  • Sugar to taste 

As I’m lazy, I usually buy pre-made and rolled out dough. I’m not quite sure as to how to translate it – maybe pastry? It’s relatively neutral in taste, so you can use it for sweet and savory tartes, but it is not as fluffy and buttery as puff pastry. 

 

I know – usually a tarte is round. But I got the square dough again and thus I put it in a square pan. 😀 Cover the dough with the grated nuts. Not only do they add nice taste, they also soak up some excess fluids from the fruit. That way the dough won’t be totally soaked and mushy. Since my boyfriend wasn’t sure he’d like the cranberries with it, I only covered half of the pan with them. Those are totally optional anyways. My mom would always pick all the raisins or cranberries from her food because she doesn’t like them. 😉

Peel the apples and pears and take out the core. Slice the fruit to your liking. I mixed them immediately with some lemon zest and the juice of one lemon, so they wouldn’t brown so fast. It also adds a nice bit of flavor.

Then, spread the fruit evenly onto the dough.   

Mix the eggs, milk (I used a bit of cream, too) together with approx. two Tbsp of sugar and a tsp vanilla extract in a separate bowl. Beat together until well blended. Pour over the Tarte. I then dusted the whole tarte with just a little bit sugar. 

Put in the pre-heated oven at 200°C for approx. 25-35 minues. (it really depends on your oven. Best check after 20 minutes to get a feel if it’s done or not). You want the egg-milk mixture to be firm and everything just lightly browned. 

Let cool for a bit and then – Enjoy!

 

One response

  1. I always get so hungry when I read your posts! Wish I had your cooking skills. It looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

