Add-Ons – your friendly little helpers

 I was thinking about what useful WoW-related post I could write. So I figured I would talk about Add-Ons today.  Or maybe I’ll make it a mini-series. (I’m writing this from the top of my head, far away from my game station at home. J) 

For the longest time I was playing without any little helpers, until my cousin explained to me – with loads of patience – why it is nice to have those little in-game helpers.

I’m stubborn that way – my boyfriend still has to convince me sometimes that this or that add-on would be good for me.  

First of all, if you don’t know it yet, get yourself a downloader that helps you organize and update your add-ons. I recommend Curse Client, it’s a safe choice. There are unfortunately quite some black sheep out there (WoWMatrix, I’m looking at you…), but Curse is a great choice. Its use is quite self-explanatory and intuitive.  I won’t add links to the various add-ons; you may find them all at curse.com or within the Downloader itself.  

One of my first Add-Ons I got and that I still love dearly and don’t want to miss is Sell Junk. Sell Junk installs a button in every vendors window that lets you sell all the grey stuff with just one click. And you would be amazed what kind of gold that may net you. (Especially if you’re like me and are farming and grinding every now and then). 

Titan Panel is a close runner-up to my favourites. It shows you how much gold you own on your various chars, the coordinates you’re at, how much time is approx. left until your next level-up and lots of other useful information, that is highly customizeable to your needs.  

A relatively new find that my boyfriend introduced me to is Reforge Lite. Man, what did I do without it?! I was studying my armour the other day, trying to decide how to reforge best when T. told me about this add-on. It’s simple – you choose your class, your specialization, hit the calculate button and – BAM – it shows you how to reforge best and how much it’ll cost you in total. Just one more click away and you’re all set and reforged nicely. Boy, that one has fastly  become my absolute favourite! 

For the longest time I couldn’t be bothered with any UI add-ons. That was way too complicated and intimidating for me. And what if I buggered up my whole interface and could never, ever play again? Yep, those were my thoughts. Eventually, T. explained – again with neverending patience – how to use Bartender. Bartender lets you place your action bars  wherever you want, in whichever size. You need one big OH-SHIT-FEIGN-DEATH-Button? No problem at all. Bartender takes some fiddling around until you find what suits you best  – but it sure changed my gaming experience to the better.  

Are you a vanity pet and mount collector? Can’t decide which mount or pet to choose? GupPet does it for you. It installs two buttons – one for mounts, one for vanity pets – and chooses one at random for you when you click it. It even lets you customize the choices, for example if there are mounts or pets you don’t like at all, you simply exclude them.  

A fantastic add-on just for the silliness of it is A-Team. Yes, you read that right. You remember the title song? You got an earworm now? Great. J If you have this add-on installed, it will play the title song from The A-Team whenever a Deathknight, be it yourself or someone else in your group or raid calls forth his army of the dead. It cracks me up every time! 

I think I’ll leave it at this for the moment – more to come at a later point!

P.S. I apologize for the text size and style – I’m still struggling a bit with WordPress and can’t find anything to change the style or size of my text! Grrrr… .

2 responses

Leave a Reply

