I tried this dish yesterday and it was absolutely fantastic! I changed a couple of veggie-ingredients, since I couldn’t find parsnip and my boyfriend doesn’t like corn. After checking my fridge for other veggies, I added some more carrots, leek and a zucchini (or would that be courgette in English?). The potato-cauliflower crust was amazing… most definitely a dish I will cook again!

The Scrumptious Pumpkin

Here are the things I love about this dish:

  • It’s pretty sneaky and sly, and you’ll find out why in a minute
  • It’s extremely flavorful and very addictive.  My meat-and-potatoes-loving husband can’t resist going back for seconds and thirds of this one
  • Just in time for Valentine’s Day, it’s also a super romantic recipe

Okay, so maybe this hearty and rustic dish is the opposite of a romantic Valentine’s dish.

I felt like I had to say something about the impending holiday.  Please note the roses and wine in my photo above in place of the romantic recipe.

So here are the major players this week ( ground beef not pictured since there really wasn’t room left on the cutting board).

Begin by starting on the potato crust.  Boil a large stock pot of water.  While that’s heating up, chop up the potatoes.  Cut each potato in half and cut each half into four…

View original post 1,347 more words

Leave a Reply

