When your RL schedule interferes with your WoW-Life

 Warning: this will be a whiney post today. You’ve been warned.

 I recently started a new job that requires me to start very early. I’m a person that needs relatively lots of sleep to be able to function, so obviously, my RL schedule interferes with my gaming schedule. Unfortunately, I’m usually way too knackered to play in the evenings, let alone raid. That bothers me greatly, because I LOVE to raid and I would love to be part of my guilds progress. But as it is, I simply can’t.  

My inner clock is so messed up by now, that even on the weekends I wake up at silly o’clock and am not able to go back to sleep. Therefore, I’m often online very early, but then offline again to take a nap. Sometimes I make it online in the evenings on the weekend, but very often not.  

Due to this situation, I’m barely able to spend time with my guildmates and do something with them, because they are usually online when I’m sleeping. This whole situation makes me extremely sad. I’m an officer in my guild and I would love to contribute more and be a part of the raiding, but my current situation simply won’t allow it. I sometimes feel like I’m missing out on all the fun and what’s even more: on achievements. Yes, I love achievements. I’m #1 in my guild as far as achievement points go. It’s stupid, I know – but I feel like this is my last straw, at least with the achievements I’m something special, something I’m good at and the thought that someone might overtake me there is really bothering me.

(yeah, slap me already, I know I earn it for thinking such nonsense…)  

There might be a light at the end of the tunnel, though. I applied for a new job, one that fits me better and apparently they really liked me. This week – hopefully – the decision will be made. Flexible working hours, how I miss thee! I know a lot of you guys are already crossing your fingers for me – thank you so much! I will keep you posted on what’s happening on the job-front.  

I can’t be the only one out there juggling RL and WoW – how do you handle it? What are your tricks?

3 responses

  1. Oh Anka. Hugs. I feel your pain. I know how you must feel with the cheesemints, but RL>WOW and you are not letting anybody down, not even yourself.

    I had a similar thing when I started working full time and could not run my moneymaking machine as I once did. I had a target in mind and had to give up on it in order to manage my time and game playing availability.

    I know you won’t like to hear it, but it is all perspective. I was horribly upset not to get Lumpy at Christmas and even though everyone said ‘oh there’s always next year’ it still makes me sad. Then I read about people who didn’t get any real present at all at Christmas and that kind of made me realise that actually I was being silly. Yes, I am miffed, but in the grand scheme of life it doesn’t matter.

    What matters is that the guild love you. We love seeing you when you are on and playing with you when we can. We love wishing you all the best with your job, home, cooking and family.

    If there are any achievements you need a healer help with please let me know and I’ll be there (as long as my RL doesn’t bugger me up :P)

    1. Thank you Seph, you’re kind words are hightly appreciated. I know it’s all about perspective, but some days stuff like that gets to you more than on other days. This is one of those days, ya know? 🙂

      I’m thinking about starting some cheesemint runs again. I’ll have to think about it and then I’ll post on our forum.

      1. I guessed it may be one of THOSE days and send hugs galore to help you through. H U G S.

Leave a Reply

