Fish-Rice-Balls with Spinach Sauce

This will be my first proper recipe post. The weekend is mostly the time when I try out new recipes and so I did this afternoon. I’ve found this particular recipe when I was browsing the website of a cooking magazin called “Saisonküche”, of which my mom gave me a subscription last Christmas. Just in case you’re wondering, the website is in German, so I’m gonna translate the recipe for you.  

These are the ingredients - plus a lemon, I forgot to put it in the picture. 🙂

So, for the Fishballs (insert insane giggles here – I just can’ t help it, I’m so sorry!) you’ll need the following ingredients:

  • 100 g Basmatirice
  • 500 g Codfish (I suspect any white fish will do)
  • 100 ml cream
  • 1 Lemon
  • Salt, Pepper
  • 200 g spinach (I used 250 g fresh spinach, because I think it tastes so much better than frozen)
  • 3 Tbsp sesame oil
  • 3 Tbsp soy sauce
  • 20 g sesame seeds

Soak the rice for about 15 minutes in cold water. Cut the fish into rough pieces and puree it together with the cream. Add some lemonzest and the juice of the lemon. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Form approx. walnut sized balls from the fish mass. Drain the rice. Roll the fishballs in the rice until nicely coated. Steam the balls for approx. 15 minutes.  (Note: the recipe says to steam it in a bamboo basket – you can get them relatively cheap at the asia market. I’m lucky enough to own a regular steamer and just made everything in there. Worked wonderful.)

Steam the spinach in a separate bamboo basket (Note: I steamed the spinach while I prepared the fish mass and then simply changed the baskets on the steamer.) Puree the spinach with the sesame oil and the soy sauce. Stir in the sesame seeds. Serve the sauce together with the Fish-Rice-Balls.

I used frozen codfish and was too impatient to let it thaw thouroughly. Thus my mass was a bit too wet. I simply drained it, but you might want to pay attention that if you do use frozen fish, that you really let it thaw and dry it off a bit afterwards.

Doesn’t look very pretty, but it sure tastes good!

It’s pretty messy to make, especially the first time, but it was totally worth it. I only had a sweet-ish indonesian soy sauce in the house, but will try a more salty kind the next time. I think it’ll complement the spinach a bit better.

 
If you try it, let me know what you think!
Leave a Reply

