Ducks and Achievements

Yesterday one of my guildies told me that Anka means “Duck” in Swedish. And when googling it, I found out that Donald Duck is called Kalle Anka in Sweden or Aku Ankka in Finland. What does that make me? A Duck Hunter? (are there even Ducks in World of Warcraft? I think I never saw any… *contemplates*… ) Oh well.

These days everyone is talking about the achievements and the seasonal events. There was the Lunar Festival, then we had the monthly Darkmoon Faire and now we’re in the last throes of the Love is in the Air event. There are guides to the achievements and the quests everywhere.

BUT

What about those people who already got them?

I admit it – I’m an achievement nut. I LOVE farming achievements. I’m always looking forward to the seasonal events in the hopes that there will be new achievements added. For the Lunar Festival, I completed the Elders of Cataclysm and farmed enough tokens to buy the new pet. During the Darkmoon Faire I did my Daily Quests religiously, so I may buy all the mounts and pets eventually. For the Love is in the Air Event I also did all the Dailies the first week and then farmed the rest of the tokens so I may buy the Pink Strider Mount. And I continue doing the Daily Dungeon for the Heartshaped Box in the hopes for the Pink Love Rocket or the Oozling.  (you might have guessed – I’m a Mount and Pet collector…)

When the concept of Achievements was first introduces in WoW I was all excited about it. I would tireless farm for the most unusual achievements. I got all my reputations to exalted. I farmed. I grinded. I even got the “Insane in the Membrane” achievement when it was still hard to get and included the Exalted Rep for the Shendralar. I was farming mounts and pets. I did the Loremaster on both Horde and later Alliance side when it was still hard and the quests not tidily sorted by country. I adored to discover the most hidden quests, those secret places…

I would say I completed the majority of achievements that can be done alone. Except the PVP stuff. Because let’s face it – I suck at PVP. Every now and then I would try my hand at it again and depending on my form of the day, I would get so impatient and angry, that my Sweetheart is telling me to go play something else before I break the keyboard.

But now I’m running out of Achievements to accomplish. There are of course some raid achievements, but those I can’t do by myself and it’s tough to get enoug people together. I think I might try and start a regular achievement hunting night again once the situation in my RL has settled down.

Of course there’s the possibility to do all those achievements with an Alt. Yes, I have alts. I even have another hunter. (In fact, I have three hunters. But that’s a story for some other time). But Tanyanka has always been – and will always be – my Main and the girl who gets all the Cheesemints. (Note: The term “Cheesemint” was created by some people in my guild, because it sounds similar to “Achievement”, but is loads funnier) Therefore, farming Cheesemints with my other Alts just ain’t that fun!

Maybe I’ll stick to picking flowers for the time being. 😉

4 responses

  1. It’s ok, the other night Daine told me Mora was a brand of knife from Switzerland or somewhere. So you may be a duck but I’m a knife.

  2. *cough* I just googled it. It’s Swedish. I’m Swiss and was wondering why I haven’t ever heard of that brand. 😉 But hey, I’m used to being confused with Sweden.
    On a different note: You’re my first commenter! Woohoo!
    To the knife and the duck! Just don’t stab me! 😀

    1. Well you both begin with S, that’s my excuse 😛

Leave a Reply

